In collaboration with the Office of the President of Harvard University, the Mahindra Humanities Center hosts annual Tanner Lectures on Human Values. The purpose of the Tanner Lectures is the advancement of scholarly and scientific learning in the field of human values. That purpose embraces the entire range of moral, artistic, intellectual, and spiritual values, both individual and social -- the full register of values pertinent to the human condition, interest, behavior, and aspiration.

The Tanner Lectures on Human Values is a nonprofit corporation administered at the University of Utah. They are funded by an endowment and other gifts received by the University of Utah from Obert Clark Tanner and Grace Adams Tanner.

Related website:

The Tanner Lecturer in 2017 is

Bryan Stevenson
Founder and Executive Director of the Equal Justice Initiative, author of Just Mercy


"Social Justice Action: How We Change the World"


Wednesday, December 6, 2017

First Parish in Cambridge, 1446 Massachusetts Ave

4pm: Lecture
5:30pm: Break
5:45pm: Panel discussion

Tickets required. More details will be announced soon.

For more details, see the event page.

At the request of a Founding Trustee of the Tanner Lectures on Human Values, these lectures are dedicated to the memory of
Clarence Irving Lewis

  • A.B. Harvard 1906
  • Ph.D. (Philosophy)
  • Harvard 1910
  • Member of the Harvard Faculty of Arts and Sciences
  • Lecturer 1920-21
  • Assistant Professor 1921-24
  • Associate Professor 1924-30
  • Professor of Philosophy 1930-46
  • Edgar Pierce Professor of Philosophy 1946-53
  • Edgar Pierce Professor of Philosophy, Emeritus, 1953-64

Tanner Trustees and Consultants

Vice Chancellor Sir Leszek and Lady Gwenllian Borysiewicz
University of Cambridge

Chancellor Nicholas Dirks and Janaki Bakhle
University of California, Berkeley

Principal Nick and Roosa Leimu-Brown
Linacre College, Oxford

President Christopher Eisgruber and Lori Martin
Princeton University

President Drew G. Faust and Charles E. Rosenberg
Harvard University

President Marc Tessier-Lavigne and Dr. Mary Hynes
Stanford University

Principal David Ibbetson
Clare Hall, Cambridge

President David and Sandi Pershing
University of Utah

Vice Chancellor Louise Richardson and Dr. Thomas Jevon
University of Oxford

President Peter Salovey and Marta Moret
Yale University

President Mark Schlissel and Monica Schwebs
University of Michigan

Rt. Reverend Carolyn Tanner Irish (Ret.) and Reverend Frederick Quinn
Chair, O. C. Tanner Board of Directors

Stephen Tanner Irish
Director, O. C. Tanner Board of Directors

David A. and Teri L. Petersen
CEO, O. C. Tanner Company

Mark Matheson and Jennifer Falk
Director, Tanner Lectures

Harvard Tanner Committee

Homi K. Bhabha, Chair
Anne F. Rothenberg Professor of the Humanities

Charles Fried
Beneficial Professor of Law

Stephen Greenblatt
John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities

Steven E. Hyman
Professor of Neurobiology at Harvard Medical School

Arthur Kleinman
Esther and Sidney Rabb Professor of Anthropology

Lawrence Lessig
Roy L. Furman Professor of Law

Elaine Scarry
Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and the General Theory of Value

Alison Simmons
Samuel H. Wolcott Professor of Philosophy

Elizabeth Spelke
Marshall L. Berkman Professor of Psychology