J. M. Coetzee

The Mahindra Award for Global Distinction in the Humanities

Tickets now available

About the Award

The Mahindra Award for Global Distinction in the Humanities celebrates the work and vision of an internationally renowned public figure whose career has contributed significantly to the flourishing of the arts and humanities. The award will be given every two years to recognize a filmmaker, journalist, architect, artist, performer, politician, foundation head, museum director, novelist, poet, or scholar by acknowledging the arc of a lifetime's dedication or the cumulative achievement of a body of work. These occasions provide an opportunity to give wide visibility to various aspects of the humanities, not only as a group of academic disciplines but as a form of public service.


David Attwell
Professor in the Department of English and Related Literature, University of York

Lawrence S. Bacow
President, Harvard University

Homi Bhabha
Director, Mahindra Humanities Center at Harvard

Suzannah Clark
Professor of Music, Harvard University

J. M. Coetzee
South African-born novelist, essayist, linguist, translator, and recipient of the 2003 Nobel Prize

Nancy Cott
Jonathan Trumbull Professor of American History, Harvard University

Osvaldo Golijov

Stephen Greenblatt
John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities, Harvard University

Jamaica Kincaid
Professor of African and African American Studies in Residence, Harvard University

Glenn Lowry
Director of The Museum of Modern Art

Robert Pippin
Evelyn Stefansson Nef Distinguished Service Professor of Social Thought, Philosophy, and in the College, the University of Chicago

Stephen Prutsman

Elaine Scarry
Walter M. Cabot Professor of Aesthetics and General Theory of Value, Harvard University


Free and open to the public. Tickets are required and available beginning at noon Wednesday, October 10th at Harvard Box Office (Smith Campus Center, 1350 Mass. Ave). Tickets will also be available by phone (617-496-2222) and online for a fee. Limit two tickets per person. Tickets valid until 4:45pm.

Photos by Tia Ann Chapman.

  • Click here to view a poster promoting this event.
  • Click here to download a program for this event.